Champions League History and more

With the approaching end of the Champion league final, football fans around the world are very excited for the Champions League finals!

What is the UEFA Champions League football competition?

It’s an annual club football competition organized by UEFA.

UEFA Champions League is a football tournament of 32 team, that compete in five rounds to be crowned the best club in Europe. UEFA means that this competition is only open to the league champions of UEFA (Union of European Football Associations) member associations.

When did the UEFA Champion League start?

The tournament was founded in 1995 with 16 sides participating. And it used to be known as the European Cup. But it was completely rebranded in 1992 and has expanded over the years.

Now we know it today as the UEFA champions league.

Which teams have won the most Champion League Titles?

1- Real Madrid

Real Madrid is by far the most successful team in European Cup history.

Real Madrid was the tournament’s first winner of the European cup which was first held during the 1955-1956.

They sit on the throne, winning the Champions League with a record staggering of 13 times.

Three of them were for consecutive years between 2016-2018.

and the others were in 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1966, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2014.


Milan jumped into second place in the list, clinching seven victories.

The last one was in 2007, against Liverpool. This victory came as revenge for the famed 2005 final.

They also have won in 1963, 1969, 1989, 1990, 1994, 2003.


The third one in the list is Liverpool, with their win in 1974, 1975, 1976, 2001, 2013, 2020.

How much money do the Champions League Winners get?

Each team that takes part in the Champions League receives prize money, and the farther the club advances, the more money it makes.

The winners of the 2020 Champions League final will receive €19 million for the victory, while the runners up taking home €15 million.

How do clubs around Europe qualify for the Champions League?

It is primarily based upon how the team finished the league in his own domestic league the prior year.

So each league is allocated a certain number of qualifying spots based on how good their league is.

That’s determined by the UEFA coefficient. Basically, the coefficient compiles how well the teams in each league have performed in continental competitions.

These scores are generated by the ranks of the last five years ranks in the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League seasons.

 The last five years rank the league accordingly, so Spain is currently on the top, also in the top four, there are the English Premier League, German, Bundesliga, Italy series. Those four leagues are considered the best in Europe.

The higher the association’s coefficient is, the more teams represent the association in the Champions League. and the fewer competitions of qualification rounds for the association’s teams.

How the Champions League works?

 In the summer, the Qualifying stage begins. It starts with three rounds.

Once those qualifying rounds finish, they left with 32 teams.

And then a play-off taking place, finally the 32 teams begin the group stage.

 Here the real competition begins, the group stage!

The group stage typically takes place from September to December, in the first half of the soccer year. Then the 32 teams are randomly split up into eight groups of four teams.

 Then every team in the group plays with the other team once at home and once away.

All 32 teams are guaranteed to play at least six group stage games.

So, for the round of 16, there is another random draw where each of the eight group winners is paired up against the runner-ups.

 And the knockout phase starts,  it is two-leg matches.

Over those two legs, the winners will advance to the quarter-finals.

 The Quarterfinals, and another draw for the remaining eight teams, its completely random draw for the quarters, and a more two-leg plays off, to decide the final four teams.

In the semifinals, the final four teams face off in the same manner.

 But the final is a little bit different than the other knockout stage games. Because it is not two legs, it’s just a single 90-minute game at a neutral location and it rotates where it is every year.

The final two teams will play for the title, and will go to extra time or penalties if necessary.

If you are not a football person, you missed a lot!


Leave a Reply
  1. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i am happy to convey that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make sure to do not forget this website and give it a glance regularly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Is Chinese Food Healthy? know the fact in 2021

Types of Diet to lose weight, keto, Dukan and more